Please use Michigan Residential Lease Agreement for leasing a dwelling within the jurisdiction of Michigan State. The landlord and all tenants must sign this form in acceptance of the terms and conditions of the tenancy. In addition, you must select the appropriate lease term from the two choices available and
Required Disclosures and Addendums
The landlord’s and any authorized personnel’s details must be included in the lease agreement according to (§ 554.634). The lease agreement should contain the name and address of the landlord and their agents for easier communication. (Demands and notices)
Receipt of Security Deposit Disclosure
According to (§ 554.603), the landlord should submit a receipt of the security deposit collected. They should also indicate the financial institution holding the funds and include the following statement:
You must notify your landlord in writing within 4 days after you move off a forwarding address where you can be reached and where you will receive mail; otherwise, your landlord shall be relieved of sending you an itemized list of damages and the penalties adherent to that failure.
Lead-Based Paint disclosure
The federal law, (42 U.S. Code § 4852d), dictates that the landlords inform the tenants of dangers associated with lead-based paint for all units built before 1978. The disclosure form and certified educational materials on the health hazards should be attached to the lease agreement.
Move-in Checklist disclosure
Michigan State requires a move-in checklist for every tenant. According to (§ 554.608), the checklist (Inventory of damages) is to be filled and signed by the tenant and returned to the landlord within 7 days.
Truth in Renting Act disclosure
(§ 554.634) requires the landlord to supply the tenant with notification of lease obligation. Legal compliance is established by having the following statement in the lease agreement:
NOTICE: Michigan law establishes rights and obligations for parties to rental agreements. This agreement is required to comply with the Truth in Renting Act. If you have a question about the interpretation or legality of a provision of this agreement, you may want to seek assistance from a lawyer or other qualified person.
Domestic Violence Victims Rights Disclosure
The (§ 554.601b) requires supplemental language posted on the premises or included in the residential lease agreement. The statement should read:
A tenant who has a reasonable apprehension of present danger to him or her or his or her child from domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking may have special statutory rights to seek a release of a rental obligation under MCL 554.601b.
Michigan Security Deposit Law
The landlord in Michigan is required to ask for a maximum of one and a half months’ rent as a deposit according to (§§ 554.602).
The security deposit should be returned within 30 days after the end of tenancy according to (§§ 554.610).
- Can a landlord break a lease in Michigan?
- Can a tenant break a lease in Michigan?
- Can a tenant withhold rent for repairs in Michigan?
- Is Michigan a tenant-friendly state?
Can a landlord break a lease in Michigan?
Yes. If a tenant fails to pay rent or has violated other terms of the lease agreement repeatedly.
Can a tenant break a lease in Michigan?
Yes. If they are in active military duty, when the unit is uninhabitable, due to domestic violence, senior citizen health issues, or privacy violation/harassment by the landlord.
Can a tenant withhold rent for repairs in Michigan?
Yes. If the landlord fails to take care of the repairs after receiving a notice.
Is Michigan a tenant-friendly state?
Yes. There are a high number of renters in Michigan which means the state has fewer issues, thus, conducive for tenants.